Canberra, ACT

24 January 2017

On Tuesday 24 January 2017, at Government House, Canberra, the Governor-General, General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), received the Prime Minister, the Honourable Malcolm Turnbull MP.

Afterwards, the Governor-General issued the Instruments of Appointment of Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries to their respective offices.

Later, the Governor-General and Lady Cosgrove hosted a ceremony at which the Governor-General issued the Oaths of Office and Executive Councillor to the newly appointed Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries: the Honourable Gregory Hunt MP, Minister for Health and Minister for Sport; Senator the Honourable Arthur Sinodinos AO, Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science; the Honourable Kenneth Wyatt AM MP, Minister for Aged Care and Minister for Indigenous Health; the Honourable Dr David Gillespie MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minster for Health; and the Honourable Michael Sukkar, Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer.

In the evening, the Governor-General and Lady Cosgrove hosted a reception for the Australian of the Year Awards 2017 finalists.