Governor-General presents The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medals

14 December 2012

In an historic moment at Government House, Canberra, the Governor-General presented The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal to four Cross of Valour recipients.

Mr Darrell James Tree CV, Mr Victor Alan Boscoe CV, Mr Allan John Sparkes CV and Mr Timothy Ian Britten CV. As recipients of the second highest award in the Australian Honours system, they were recognised again for their extraordinary actions of bravery and courage. The Diamond Jubilee Medal was created to mark the 60th Anniversary of the accession to the throne of Queen Elizabeth II.

The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal is a personal gift from Her Majesty to living Australian holders of the Victoria Cross, George Cross, Victoria Cross for Australia and the Cross of Valour.