

Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

19 August 2019

Australian Bravery Decorations

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards:

BRAVERY MEDAL (BM)

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Miss Elizabeth Ann ADAMS

Palm Beach Qld 4221

Mr Leon Corey BROUWER Singleton WA 6175

Mr Craig Geoffrey COLEMAN

St Lawrence Qld 4707

Mr Lyle Ernest COLLINS

Rochester Vic 3561

Sergeant Paul Anthony COX

Queensland Police Service

Mr Jean-Luc GALLO

NSW

Mr Damond Warwick GRAY

Mount Warren Park Qld 4207

Mr Matthew Caine HASSEN

Bulimba Qld 4171

Mr Zen Sirius JOYCE

Coledale NSW 2515

Mr Alan Brian LAWRY

Coolum Beach Qld 4573

Mr Timothy Thomas LEEMING

Coojar VIC 3315

Miss Karina NUMAMURDIRDI

Angurugu Community NT 0822

The late Mr Robert Fawcett PICKERSGILL

Formerly of Qld

Mr Todd Jonathan ROBERTSON

Barwon Heads Vic 3227

Mr Jason Troy SHEPHERD

Lower King WA 6330

Mr Andrew Gordon STRUNK

South Fremantle WA 6162

Mr Axel Christian TRITTON

Dean Park NSW 2761

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Miss Ella Layne ANDREWS

WA

Mr Lachlan James BULMAN

Vic

Mrs Vivienne Susanne COLEMAN

St Lawrence Qld 4707

Warrant Officer Class Two James Hugh COTTLE

Qld

Mr Robert William DEVLIN

Qld

Mr Mitchell Ronald FING

Raymond Terrace NSW 2324

Mr Craig John HOGARTH

Caloundra Qld 4551

Mr Marc Andrew JOHNSON

Traralgon Vic 3844

The late Mr David KERR

Formerly of NSW

Mr David Colin McCARTNEY

Ungarie NSW 2669

Commendation for Brave Conduct (continued)

Mr Daniel Wayne McDONALD

Marcoola Qld 4564

Mr Darryn Charles MARSHALL

Nerang Qld 4211

Mr William Michael NASH

Conder ACT 2906

Mr Jared ROBINSON

Hatherleigh SA 5280

Mr Roberto SEROLA

Burleigh Heads Qld 4220

Mrs Kerry Lee SEYMOUR

Qld

Senior Constable Jay Stuart SHEPHERD

Queensland Police Service

Mr Christopher John WILLIAMS

Mount Compass SA 5210

Mr Mitchell Clarke WILLIAMS

Mount Compass SA 5210

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

Awardees comprise of former Queensland Corrections Officers who assisted during a fire and inmate riot at a maximum security prison in Dutton Park, Queensland on 2 December 1987.

Mr Cyril Idres CAIRNS

Arundel Qld 4214

Mr John Francis COLLINS

Beenleigh Qld 4207

The Late Mr Geoffrey GRANT

Formerly of Sunnybank Qld 4109

Mr David JEFFERSON

Parkinson Qld 4115

Mr Michael James KINDNESS

Boondall Qld 4034

Mr Roy Stanley KOPLICK

Eagleby Qld 4207

Awardees comprise of three members and one former member of the Northern Territory Police Force who rescued a woman from a burning unit in Katherine, Northern Territory on 25 May 2017.

Mr Trent Mitchell DOLE

NT

Constable First Class Blake Peter GOODWORTH Constable Timothy Liam GOUVERNEUR Sergeant Benjamin Samuel WATSON

Awardees comprise of members of the public who were involved in the rescue of a woman from a burning vehicle at Palm Beach, Queensland on 29 May 2016.

Miss Elizabeth Ann ADAMS

Palm Beach Qld 4221

Dr Ashok GANGASANDRA BASAVARAJ

Clear Island Waters Qld 4226

Mr Vishaak GANGASANDRA

Clear Island Waters Qld 4226

Mr Richard STAPLES

Currumbin Waters Qld 4223

Mr John Hendrikus VERBEEK

Currumbin Qld 4223

Awardees comprise of three members of the public who rescued people from a burning car at Orelia, Western Australia on 20 April 2018.

Mr Robin John LEE

Burswood WA 6100

Mr Jake Wilson PUGH

Orelia WA 6167

Mr Ian Trevor URQUHART

Orelia WA 6167

Awardees comprise of members of Queensland Police Service who were involved in removing a man from a burning vehicle at Mount Gravatt, Queensland on 25 February 2015.

Sergeant Agnelle Amelia BAGETTI Senior Constable Jason Patrick BANKS Senior Constable Brendan Sean O'BRIEN Sergeant Matthew John O'BRIEN Senior Constable Jay Stuart SHEPHERD Senior Constable Ashley Karl THOMPSON

Group Bravery Citation (continued)

Awardees comprise of members of Queensland Police Service who were confronted by an armed man at Gracemere, Queensland on 22 December 2015.

Constable Richard Louis ADDERLEY Senior Constable Dale Anthony COOK

Awardees comprise of members of Queensland State Emergency Service and one member of the public who rescued a family stranded in floodwaters following Cyclone Debbie, Queensland on 31 March 2017.

Mrs Claire Louise BROWNING

Tas

Mr James FERGUSON

Waterford Qld 4133

Mr Samuel Liam FOURAS

Luscombe Qld 4207

Mr Christopher Edward HOLLOWAY

Logan City Qld 4114

Awardees comprise of members of the public who rescued several children from the ocean at Dolphin Point, New South Wales on 17 January 2018.

Mr Brent Jeffrey ELPHINSTON

Engadine NSW 2233

Mrs Nerida Lee LARTER

NSW

Mrs Kerrie Ann McCULLOCH

Barden Ridge NSW 2234

Mr Simon James OWEN

Raby NSW 2566

Mr Brett Colin WILLIAMS

Robertson NSW 2577

Awardees comprise of five men who, between 1940 and 1943, elected to remain on the Island of Nauru to protect the Indigenous population and uphold law and order despite the threat of invasion by Japanese forces.

The late Lieutenant Colonel Frederick Royden CHALMERS CMG DSO
The late Mr William Henry DOYLE
The late Mr Frederick Francis HARMER
The late Dr Bernard Haselden QUIN
The late Mr Wilfred SHUGG

By His Excellency's command

Paul Singer MVO

Official Secretary to the Governor-General