

Commonwealth of Australia

Gazette

No. S 374, Friday, 3 October 1997

Published by the Australian Government Publishing Service, Canberra

SPECIAL

THE AUSTRALIAN BRAVERY DECORATIONS

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the award of the following Bravery Decorations:

STAR OF COURAGE

(For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)

Mr Robert John Elliott, 58-62 Terrara Road, Vermont Vic 3133

BRAVERY MEDAL

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mrs Lynne Suzanne Beavis, 1 McGregor Court, Mt Evelyn Vic 3796

Mr Mark Andrew Bode, 2 Mercedes Street, Seaview Heights, Gladstone Qld 4680

Mr Peter David Crosswell, 18 Leyden Avenue, Seven Mile Beach Tas 7170

Mr Ronald Noel Jary, Late of Red Cliffs Vic 3496 Mr Tony Kistan, Late of 7 Haig Avenue, Summer Hill NSW 2130

Miss Mavis May Le Brocq, Late of Sandy Creek Road, New Burnt Bridge via Kempsey NSW 2440

Mr Leslie Dennis Lever, Late of 30 Tecoma Street, Red Cliffs Vic 3496

Ms Carolyn Anne Loughton, 17 Kia Ora Parade, Ferntree Gully Vic 3156

Warrant Officer Glenn Phillip McInnes, Cottage 4, ALTC Norris Barracks, Portsea Vic 3944

Mr Peter Brenton Nash, Late of 18 Fourth Avenue, Hoppers Crossing Vic 3029

Mr Mark Christopher Ollier, 3 Rona Street, Ferntree Gully Vic 3156

Mr Glenn Roy Pears, Late of 90 Norma Street, Howrah Tas 7018

BRAVERY MEDAL (continued)

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mr Kevin Vincent Sharp, Late of 4 Link Avenue, Kilmore Vic 3764

Warrant Officer Murray Ian Spriggs, 37 SQN, Loadmaster Section, RAAF Base, Richmond NSW 2754

Mr John Patrick Wright, 5 Gowrie Street, Cronulla NSW 2230

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Ms Jean Elizabeth Andrews, C/- 60 Castle Street, Goolwa SA 5214

Mr James Balasko, 317 Valley Brook Avenue, Lyndhurst NJ 07071 USA

Mr Phillip John Dempsey, 7 Hawkvalley Crescent, Maida Vale WA 6057

Mr Anthony Robert Dennison

Mr Eric Brian Edmonds, 105 Western Street, Rockhampton Qld 4700

Mr Keith Cameron Edward, 1 Sequoia Place, Port Macquarie NSW 2444

Mr John Graeme Fidler, 10 Robert Court, East Rosanna Vic 3084

Mr Gordon Howard Francis, 33 Elgin Avenue, Warradale SA 5046

Senior Constable Denis James Gabbedy, Victoria Police Service

Miss Teena Michelle James, 37 Alday Street, St James WA 6102

Miss Rebecca Nicole Johnson, 21 Acacia Drive, Mildura Vic 3500

Mr Richard James Kennedy, New Burnt Bridge, South Kempsey NSW 2440

Acting Sergeant Paul Maxwell Kimber, Western Australia Police Service Mr Johnson Grey Kitto, 22 Park Road, Nedlands WA 6009

Acting Sergeant Mark Allan Mackin, Western Australia Police Service

Dr William Brian Maguire, 20 Falcon Street, Manly Qld 4179

Mrs Jennifer Margaret Moors, 304 Cross Road, Clarence Park SA 5034

Mr Jack Walton Nixon, Lot 132, Marmion Street, Derby WA 6728

Senior Constable Justin Mark Noble, New South Wales Police Service

Mr Dennis John Nudd, 34 Mathew Avenue, Belmont North NSW 2280

Mr Johan Georges Overbeeke

Mr Neville John Quin, East Coast Birdlife and Animal Park, Tasman Highway, Bicheno Tas 7215

Mr John Douglas Rooke, RMB 847, Mason Point Road, Taranna Tas 7180

Mrs Pamela Faye Sloane, 6 Turunen Avenue, Silverdale NSW 2752

Dr John Clement Windsor, 50 David Street, Toombul Qld 4012

Mrs Joanne Francis Winter

GROUP CITATION FOR BRAVERY

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

Cassandra Louise Archer-Frerk
Anita Eve Bingham
Melissa Louise Briggs
Nicole Louise Burgess (deceased)
Suzanne June Burgess
Gaye Carozne Churchill (nee Myler)
Brigid Ann Cook
Paul Anthony Cooper
Robyn Sue Croger
Anne Teresa Headlam
Ann Hillman

GROUP CITATION FOR BRAVERY (continued)

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Elizabeth Jane Howard (deceased) Steven John Howard Kenneth Francis Howlett Helen Kerr-Smith Aileen Alda Kingston Ian Gregory Kingston Mark Adam Kirby Ashley John Law Ian Robert McElwee Vicki Ann McLaughlin Nanette Patricia Mikac Karen Gay Newitt Sharon Lee Noye Colleen Maree Parker Maree Nancy Parremore

Gareath Edward Plummer
Peter Max Roche
Wendy Esme Scurr
Mark Anthony Sharman
Kim Patric Rudyard Simpson
Louisa Rachel Street
Royce William Thompson (deceased)
Noreen Olive Wilson
Peter John Wilson

By His Excellency's Command

Douglas Sturkey
Official Secretary to
the Governor-General