

Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

26 March 2017

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards and appointments:

## STAR OF COURAGE

(For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)

Ms Nada Lynda BAYLEY Camperdown NSW 2050

Mr Cameron Deane CAULFIELD Carina Heights Qld 4152

Mr Jayden Riley CAULFIELD Carina Heights Qld 4152

The late Mr Luke Adam JACOBS Late of Devonport Tas 7310

Mr Matthew Royston O'GRADY Umina Beach NSW 2257

The late Mr Dermot Michael O'TOOLE Late of Lynbrook Vic 3975

# **BRAVERY MEDAL**

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mr Athen Cahn Lontok BARNABY Southport Qld 4215

Sergeant Kyle Craig BATES Queensland Police Service

Mr Edward William BENNET Gold Coast Qld 4221

Mr Sean Jeffery BROCK-DILLON Rosewood Qld 4340

Ms Janine CAHILL Sydney NSW 2000

Mr Sean Joseph CARLOW Drummoyne NSW 2047

Miss Kaylea Rae CAULFIELD Carina Heights Qld 4152 Mr Mathew David CLARK Queensland Police Service

The late Mr Christian Charles DEJANOVIC Late of Victoria

Master Zane Luke FIELDS Carina Heights Qld 4152

Mr Scott R C HUNTER Bargara Qld 4670

Sergeant Nicole Anne JACKSON Queensland Police Service

The late Detective Senior Constable Damian LEEDING Late of the Queensland Police Service

Mr Peter Anthony LYNCH Alexandria NSW 1435

Mrs Wendy Ann MESLEY North Sydney NSW 2060

Mr Steven Craig MORRIS Townsville Qld 4810

Mr Neil Peter PAULSEN Queensland

Mr Adam John PEARSON Mount Tamborine Qld 4272

Mr Clive James REDFERN Wee Waa NSW 2388

Mr Constantinos SAKOULAS Russell Lea NSW 2046

Petty Officer Simon Trevor SCOTT New South Wales

Detective Senior Constable Danny SHADDOCK Victoria Police

Mr Anthony Vincent SMITH Kearneys Spring Qld 4350

# Bravery Medal (continued)

Mr Richard N P SMITH Claremont Tas 7011

Mr Richard Antony SPYTEK Cannington WA 6107

Mr Brendan Andrew WALKER Alfredton Vic 3350

### **COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT**

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Mr Cameron James BANKS Tasmania

Senior Constable Adrian Patrick BROWNING Queensland Police Service

Mr Mark Raymond CHARTERIS Malak NT 0812

Miss Elena Marie DAMIANOPOULOS Stirling WA 6021

Mr Mark Adrian DAVISON Point Arkwright Qld 4573

Ms Belinda Kate DONKERS Queensland

Mr Ian Leslie FAULKNER Bundaberg Qld 4670

Senior Constable Jason Lee GOSLING Queensland Police Service

Mr Neil James HENLEY PO Box 2088, Katherine NT 0851

Mr Bradley HENRY Cairns Qld 4870

Mr Brian Edward IGOE Yarrawonga Vic 3730

Mr Cain Regan JOSEFSKI Qunaba Qld 4670

Dr Sheree MAAS Victoria

Mr James Alexander NORTON Mount Pleasant, Christchurch, New Zealand

Mrs Deborah Lee SCHEPIS Busselton WA 6280

Mr William John SHAW Glenfield NSW 2167

Mr Neil Warren STUDHOLME North Bundaberg Qld 4670 Mr David Micheal TRAVERS Katherine East NT 0850

#### Mr Andrew Phillip WATTS Castlecrag NSW 2068

Sergeant Matthew Robert WILLIAMS Victoria Police

# **GROUP BRAVERY CITATION**

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

Awardees are members of the public and Queensland Police, Fire and Ambulance Services who assisted in the rescue of a driver from a chemical laden truck which had crashed at Angellala Creek, Charleville. Queensland on 5 September 2014.

Awards for the abovementioned were announced on 17 August 2016; Mr Pearson has been added to this group.

Mr Adam John PEARSON Mount Tamborine Qld 4272

Awardees are members of the Australian Defence Force Clearance Dive Team Four who assisted in locating and removing an underwater explosive device at Australind, Western Australia on 31 October 2013.

Leading Seaman Scott Heath CALDWELL Western Australia

Able Seaman Jeremy Peter COFFEY New South Wales

Leading Seaman Euan James HOLDEN Western Australia

Mr Daniel Robert RYAN New South Wales

Petty Officer Simon Trevor SCOTT New South Wales

Warrant Officer William Ashley TAYLOR Western Australia

Able Seaman Wyman Cannon VINCENT Western Australia

Awardees are members of the Queensland Police Service and the Australian Defence Force who attempted to evacuate an elderly man from a burning house at Mitchelton, Queensland on 9 April 2015.

Sergeant Stephane Alain FRICOTTÉ Australian Army

Major Scott Leighton HILL Australian Army

# Group Bravery Citation (continued)

Acting Senior Sergeant Robert Anthony COLTHORPE Queensland Police Service

Constable Connor Neil CUNNEEN Queensland Police Service

Detective Senior Constable Martin PAYNE Queensland Police Service

Constable Stephen PELZER Queensland Police Service

Awardees are members of the Queensland Police Service who assisted in the rescue of four people from a burning vehicle at Bracken Ridge, Queensland on 12 June 2014.

Senior Constable Matthew John GRACE Queensland Police Service

Senior Constable Michael John McGAHAN Queensland Police Service

Senior Constable Paul James McNAMARA Queensland Police Service

Sergeant Brett Anthony MARTIN Queensland Police Service

Sergeant Ashley PURVEY Queensland Police Service

Awardees are members of the Queensland Police Service who responded to an armed robbery incident at Pacific Pines, Queensland on 29 May 2011.

Senior Constable Wayne ALGIE Queensland Police Service

Constable Kelly Nicole GEPHART Queensland Police Service Constable Melanie Kathleen GODFREY Queensland Police Service

Sergeant Nicole Anne JACKSON Queensland Police Service

The late Detective Senior Constable Damian LEEDING Late of Queensland Police Service

Senior Sergeant Brett Raymond MacGIBBON Queensland Police Service

Senior Constable Veit VOSSHAGE Queensland Police Service

Awardees are crew members of Westpac Rescue Assisted Helicopter – Lifesaver 21 who rescued man from dangerous water in Mount Garie Royal National Park, New South Wales on 28 February 2016.

Mr Keith Warren McREYNOLDS Forestville NSW 2086

Mr John Alexander MOLNAR Sans Souci NSW 2219

Mr Richard Roy WALDEN Eastwood NSW 2122

By His Excellency's command

Mark Fraser LVO OAM

Official Secretary to the Governor-General