

Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

13 September 2017

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards:

STAR OF COURAGE

(For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)

The late Mr Benjamin Mark AHERNE

Late of Devonport Tas 7310

Mr Andrew George COCHRAN

Medowie NSW 2318

Dr Hugh Robert GILES

East Ballina NSW 2478

Mr Hayden Toimairangi GRIFFITHS

Quakers Hill NSW 2763

Senior Constable Karen Elizabeth LOWDEN

New South Wales Police

Mr Michael James O'ROURKE

Hornsby Heights NSW 2077

Mr Paul Terrence POLLARD

Hornsby Heights NSW 2077

Mr Thomas Peter RAYMEN

Elanora Heights NSW 2101

Mr Joel Alexander TRIST

Minnamurra NSW 2533

BRAVERY MEDAL

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mr William Maurice ATKINSON

New South Wales

Senior Sergeant Nathan Malcolm BLAIN

Queensland Police

Mr David Mark BREARLEY

Cheshire, United Kingdom

Detective Senior Constable Gregory Matthew CAMILLERI

New South Wales Police

Mr Wade Trevor CAPPS

Banyo Qld 4014

Mr George Francis CHEEKE

Freshwater NSW 2096

Senior Constable Stephen James COOK

Queensland Police

Mr Mark Geoffrey CRAWFORD

Eltham NSW 2480

Detective Senior Sergeant Mary Kathleen CRUMLIN

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Timothy James DUFFY

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Jacob Maurice FLAHERTY

Queensland Police

Senior Constable Aaron Rhys GASKELL

New South Wales Police

Sergeant Gary Harold HAMREY

Queensland Police

Sergeant Barry John HARAN

Queensland Police

Mr David Michael HARRIS

Koongal Qld 4701

Bravery Medal (continued)

Mr Joel Peter HARRIS

Koongal Qld 4701

Mr Matthew Thomas HULL

Queensland

Senior Constable Joseph Dominic KELLY

Queensland Police

Dr Peter KERKENEZOV

Ballina NSW 2478

Mr Goch Isaac KOT

Kaleen ACT 2617

Mr Matthew Hayes MEADOWS

East Ballina NSW 2478

Mr Lloyd Rudi MULDER

Valentine NSW 2280

Senior Constable David MURRAY

Queensland Police

Mr Joshua James RODGERS

Maryborough Qld 4650

Senior Constable Luke Graham ROWLEY

Queensland Police

Mr Liam Henry SLACK

Runaway Bay Qld 4216

Mr Mark SMITH

New South Wales

Plain Clothes Senior Constable Natalie Janet SOUTH

New South Wales Police

Mr Nathan Peter TASKER

New South Wales

Sergeant Elise TEELING

New South Wales Police

Sergeant Luke Thomas WARBURTON

New South Wales Police

Mr Kurt Bernard ZIETLOW

Cabarita Beach NSW 2488

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Mr Morgan Walter ASHWORTH

Kalannie WA 6468

Mr Walter Forrest ASHWORTH

Kalannie WA 6468

Mrs Fiona Margaret BENNION

Cannonvale Qld 4802

Miss Tayah Erin BONGIORNO

Box Hill Vic 3128

Senior Constable Benjamin James BURNELL

Queensland Police

Mr Brian Keith CALWAY

Townsville Qld 4810

Mr Sandy Robert COOKE

Koorda WA 6475

Miss Stacey Lee DENMAN

Labrador Qld 4215

Mr Christopher Joseph DENNIS

Queensland

The late Mr Stephen Charles DICK

Late of Garden Suburb NSW 2289

Mr Jye FISHER

Pacific Palms NSW 2428

Mr Aaron HILLIER

Queensland

Detective Constable Lachlan Charles KNOWLES

Queensland Police

Corporal Mark Adam LAMB

Northern Territory

Mr Stephen Thomas LAMB

Belmont NSW 2280

Mr Graeme Gary LAWRENCE

Bald Hills Qld 4036

Mr Gregory Thomas LEWIS

Belmont NSW 2280

Detective Senior Constable Danijel LUKIC

Queensland Police

Ms Cristiana Margaret MORF

Castle Hill Qld 4810

Mr Robert Ross PARKIN

New South Wales

Mr Robert Charles PEARSON

Yellow Rock NSW 2777

Senior Constable Adam Issac PETERSEN

Queensland Police

Mr Scott Alan PITT

New South Wales

Miss Kaitlin Lily RELF

Munruben Qld 4125

Commendation for Brave Conduct (continued)

Mr Darren ROGERS

New South Wales

Mr Simon Robert ROSS

Port Macquarie NSW 2444

Sergeant Gregory Burgess ST CLAIR

Queensland Police

Mr Rodney John SMITH

Botanic Ridge Vic 3977

Mr Rory Samuel SMITH

Botanic Ridge Vic 3977

Mr Frans Fredrik van REES

Castle Hill NSW 2154

Ms Anneke WEEMAES

United Kingdom

Mr Wayne Gerrard WELLER

Madora Bay WA 6210

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

Awardees are members of New South Wales Police and the public who rendered safe a suspected explosive device which was attached to a woman at Mosman, New South Wales on 3 August 2011.

Senior Constable Luke BAKEY
Senior Constable Luke BUXTON
Detective Senior Constable Gregory Matthew
CAMILLERI

Detective Senior Sergeant Mary Kathleen CRUMLIN Leading Senior Constable Brett Andrew FERRARI Senior Constable Aaron Rhys GASKELL Senior Constable Karen Elizabeth LOWDEN Detective Sergeant Gary Charles LOWE Miss Madeleine Kate PULVER

Mosman NSW 2088

Senior Constable Mark REYNOLDS Mr Mark SMITH

Inspector Paul Thomas SMITH

Plain Clothes Senior Constable Natalie Janet SOUTH

Sergeant Elise TEELING

Senior Constable Mark WOODROFFE

Awardees are members of Fire and Rescue New South Wales and the public who protected property and lives during a bushfire at Yellow Rock, New South Wales on 17 October 2013

Mr John Patrick BUGELLI

Dean Park NSW 2761

Mr Tony Robert GUTTERIDGE

Erskine Park NSW 2759

Mr Phillip HOLDSWORTH

Faulconbridge NSW 2776

Mr Robert Charles PEARSON

Yellow Rock NSW 2777

Mr Andrew SARSON

New South Wales

Awardees are members of New South Wales Police, Ambulance New South Wales and hospital security staff who attended an armed hostage situation at a hospital in Penrith, New South Wales on 12 January 2016

Mr Allen Leslie ANDREWS

Werrington NSW 2747

Senior Constable Timothy James DUFFY

New South Wales Police

Mr Michael John FIFIELD

Springwood NSW 2777

Sergeant Troy Richard HANDLEY

New South Wales Police

Mr Barry JENNINGS

South Penrith NSW 2750

Constable Lisa Susan MYERS

New South Wales Police

Constable Graham SHEARLEY

New South Wales Police

Mr Andrew Charles SPASIC

Emu Plains NSW 2750

Sergeant Luke Thomas WARBURTON

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Michelle Anne WATT

New South Wales Police

Mr Barry James WRIGHT

Seven Hills NSW 2147

Group Bravery Citation (continued)

Awardees are members of New South Wales State Emergency Services who assisted two men caught in floodwater near Lismore, New South Wales on 4 June 2016.

Mr Paul Kenneth BARRY Lismore NSW 2480

Senior Constable John David STIRLINGNew South Wales Police

Leading Senior Constable Amanda Leigh VIDLER

New South Wales Police

By His Excellency's command

Mark Fraser LVO OAM

Official Secretary to the Governor-General