

Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600 1 September 2013

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following appointments and awards:

BRAVERY MEDAL

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Sergeant Dean Francis BRIESE Berrimah NT 0828

Sergeant Daniel John BURGESS Victoria Police

Mr Scott Nicholas BUTLER Yamba NSW 2464

Lance Corporal Andrew Joseph FENECH Brisbane Qld 4000

Mr Jamie Scott FERGUSON Stafford Heights Qld 4053

Miss Brooke Ann FOGARTY 6 Birch Street, North St Marys NSW 2760

Mr Daniel GRULKE
3 Fairmead Place, Narre Warren South Vic 3805

Mr Michael Kenneth HALL Bedfordale WA 6112

Constable Sean Malcolm HANLON

Queensland Police

Mrs Katherine HILDER Carine WA 6020

Mr Matthew William HOWARD

'Violet Banks', 70 Eurack Road, Beeac Vic 3251

Mrs Heather Louise KING 63 Nicholli Street, Duncraig WA 6023

Mr Simon Joshua LEWIS
26 Wangaroa Crescent, Lethbridge Park NSW 2770

Mrs Sally Lu McALPINE WA

Mr Warren William McERLEAN Toowoomba Qld 4350

Senior Constable Joshua Dylan PEACH Tasmania Police

Mr Sean Gary ROBERTS
7 Keays Road, Roleystone WA 6111

Mr James Marlon RUSSELL PO Box 449, Yamba NSW 2464 Mr Antonino SCIDONE

19 Kersley Loop, Harrisdale WA 6112

Mr Jason Bryce STONE Maryborough Vic 3465

Mrs Jo-Anne URQUHART
17 Majestic Place, Connolly WA 6027

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Mr Christopher John ANGWIN
Cape Woolamai, Phillip Island Vic 3925

Mr Robert Vincent BARRON PO Box 330, Oakey Qld 4401

Mr Darren George BATES Stockyard Road, Norfolk Island 2899

Senior Firefighter Corrie James BENSON Townsville Qld 4810

Mrs Rosalie Michelle BRADES Carine WA 6020

Mr Dean Laurent BURRELL 29 George Hunn Nobbs Road, Norfolk Island 2899

Mr Timothy John BUSHELL-HAZELL Adelaide SA 5000

Mr Gregory James DARLINGTON
3 Yuruga Place, Maryborough Qld 4650

Mrs Joan Marion DARLINGTON 3 Yuruga Place, Maryborough Qld 4650

Mr Ryan Donald HOUSTON 90 Wendouree Road, Wilson WA 6107

Mr Coel Kenneth IBBERTSON Emu Park Qld 4710

Mr Scott JAMES
17 Kista-Dan Avenue, Tregear NSW 2770

Mr Michael Thomas KENNEDY Bateau Bay NSW 2261

Mr Peter John LUCAS 22 Beach Street, Yamba NSW 2464 Commendation for Brave Conduct (Continued)

Senior Constable Brigitte Ann MANNING-JONES

Queensland Police

Mr Graham William PAGDEN

6 Surrey Park Court, Glen Innes NSW 2370

Mr Steven Samual PRICE

PO Box 264, Paradise Point Qld 4216

Senior Constable Daven Bruce RICHARDS

Queensland Police

Senior Constable Bill Leslie RICHARDSON

Victoria Police

Mr William Bruce RILEY

Toowoomba Qld 4350

Detective Sergeant Peter John ROBSON-PETCH

Queensland Police

Mr Jason Dale ROFF

ACT

Mrs Jodie Marie ROFF

ACT

Mr Ronald Lloyd SCHEUERLE

31 Weise Street, Oakey Qld 4401

Station Officer Bernard William TRACEY

Townsville Qld 4810

Mr Sam Ash-Lee TWEEDALE

North Lakes Qld 4509

Ms Danica Lea Van den BOGERT

Esperance WA 6450

Mr Harley Paul WALLIS

Armidale NSW 2350

Dr Joe William WEIR

Oakey Qld 4401

Senior Constable Kristie WILLIAMS

Queensland Police

Mr Brendan William WINTER

Dalby Qld 4405

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of

recognition)

Awardees comprise of members of the Bedfordale Volunteer Bushfire Brigade, involved in fire-fighting operations in the Roleystone-Kelmscott area during

bushfires in February 2011.

Mr Michael Kenneth HALL

Bedfordale WA 6112

Mr Alexander Bernard LEACH

24 Aulini Drive, Bedfordale WA 6112

Mr Michael Raymond McCAVANAGH

Bedfordale WA 6112

Mr Mark Anthony PUTTICK

Bedfordale WA 6112

Mr Antonino SCIDONE

19 Kersley Loop, Harrisdale WA 6112

Mr Stephen Edward SMITH

28 Cresswick Parade, Dalmeny NSW 2546

Awardees comprise of members of the Marysville SES who assisted with the evacuation of residents during the Victorian bushfires in February 2009.

Mr David Brandon BARTON

PO Box 1, Marysville Vic 3779

Ms Jennifer Anne BARTON

PO Box 223, Coldstream Vic 3770

Miss Josephine Ann HUNTER

Marysville Vic 3779

Mr Thomas Mark PEART

Marysville Vic 3779

Mr Keith David RAY

Buxton Vic 3711

Mr Ian Jeffrey WALTERS

Marysville Vic 3779

Awardees comprise of members of the public who rescued a man from a burning vessel in Denham, Western Australia on 29 November 2011.

Mr George Ernest DIX

Denham WA 6537

Mr Justin HEWITT

53 Vlamingh Crescent, Denham WA 6537

Mr Ronald David MARQUIS

Denham WA 6537

Awardees comprise of voluntary members of the Kinglake Community Emergency Response Team who responded to emergency incidents during the Victorian bushfires in February 2009.

Mr Ian James DUNELL

6 Kelly Court, Pheasant Creek Vic 3757

Mrs Victoria Lee DUNELL ASM

6 Kelly Court, Pheasant Creek VIC 3757

Mr Bartholomew WUNDERLICH

Kinglake West Vic 3757

Group Bravery Citation (continued)

Awardees comprise of members of the Reefton Country Fire Authority, involved in fire-fighting operations during the Victorian bushfires in February 2009.

Mr Danny James BENNETT

1640 Woods Point Road, McMahons Creek Vic 3799

Ms Rachel Lee BENNETT

1640 Woods Point Road, McMahons Creek Vic 3799

Mr Andrew Jeramie McDONALD

21 Fishermans Drive, Reefton Vic 3799

Mr Ross Edward MINIFIE

Reefton Vic 3799

Ms Kathleen Marie TILLEY

Reefton Vic 3799

Awardees comprise of crew members of sail boat TryBooking.com, who rescued sailors from a stricken vessel during the Melbourne to Port Fairy ocean race 2012.

Mr Grant David DUNOON

Melbourne Vic 3000

Mr Klaus-Peter FECHT

14 Caramar Avenue, Brighton East Vic 3187

Mr Gordon Ross FISHER

2 Wright Street, Brighton Vic 3186

Mr Kimberley John WALKER

Brighton Vic 3186

Awardees comprise members of the public who rescued several people caught in a rip at Urquhart Bluff beach on 22 January 2012.

Mr Luke Connell BEAZLEY

Windsor Vic 3181

Mr Angus Harker JOHNSON

Port Melbourne Vic 3207

Mr Benjamin James PANNELL

North Sunshine Vic 3020

Mr Jason Richard PHIELER

PO Box 267, Aireys Inlet Vic 3231

Awardees comprise of members of the public who rescued two people from a submerged vehicle at Broadbeach Waters, Queensland on 10 June 2012.

Mr John CHAMBERS

Mermaid Waters Old 4218

Mr Evan Dougald DALTON

2/54 Hooker Boulevard, 'Pacific Keys' Mermaid Waters Qld 4218

Ms Tanya Maree MATHEWS

2/54 Hooker Boulevard, 'Pacific Keys', Mermaid Waters Qld 4218

Mr Steven Samual PRICE

PO Box 264, Paradise Point Qld 4216

Awardees comprise of three young boys who went to the assistance of a girl at Palm Island, Queensland on 12 May 2011.

Master Harry Frederick FRIDAY

Lot 190 Dee Street, Palm Island Qld 4816

Master Ralph Paul HUGHES

Lot 165 Palmers Crescent, Palm Island Qld 4816

Master Carey Lenny NUGENT

Lot 212, Dee Street, Palm Island Qld 4816

Awardees comprise of Royal Australian Navy personnel involved in the winch rescue of a man from floodwaters at Laidley Creek during the Queensland floods on 11 January 2011.

Petty Officer Nicholas Edward ANDERSON

4 King Street, Berry NSW 2535

Chief Petty Officer Kerwyn Louis BALLICO

Nowra NSW 2541

Lieutenant Simon Paul DRIESSEN

Shoalhaven Heads NSW 2535

Commander Scott Christopher PALMER

ACT

The following awardee is added to the Group Bravery Citation awarded and gazetted on 25 March 2013

Awardees assisted members of Queensland Police Public Safety Response Team who conducted rescue operations during the Queensland Floods in the Lockyer Valley in January 2011.

Mr Anthony James ALTHAUS

Placid Hills Qld 4343

By Her Excellency's command

Stephen Brady CVO

Official Secretary to the Governor-General