

Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

24 March 2014

AUSTRALIAN BRAVERY DECORATIONS

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following appointments and awards:

STAR OF COURAGE (SC)

(For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)

Mr Andrew MacDONALD
Padstow NSW 2211

BRAVERY MEDAL (BM)

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mrs Leanne Gayle BARBER 26 Thomas Lane, Broken Hill NSW 2880

Senior Constable Darryl Roderick CAMPBELL Queensland Police

Detective Inspector Darren John CLOAKENew South Wales Police

Mr Rowan Anthony CUTBUSH
25 Richardson Avenue, Boat Harbour NSW 2316

Mr John Edward DAVIES
7/399 Kooyong Road, Elsternwick Vic 3185

Mr William Thomas DENNY AM 15 Galway Grove, Tranmere SA 5073

Mr Bradley David DRAPER
32 Kumbari Crescent, Mitchelton Qld 4053

Mr Damian Simon HALL 26 Paringa Way, Burnside Vic 3023

Mr Rodney Charles HOWARD Sydney NSW 2000

Mr Charlton William KABLE, deceased Late of Sydney NSW 2000

Mr Mark John McNICOL Yellow Rock, NSW 2777

Mr Daniel Martin RACE
10 St Clair Place, Cooloongup WA 6168

Mr David RADCLIFFE Forrest Beach Qld 4850

Mr Daniel REBBECHI Dianella WA 6059

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Mrs Connie Teresa BORG Burnside Vic 3023

Senior Sergeant David George BRAY
Tasmania Police

Mr Stephen Francis CORCORAN 27 Arkana Drive, Noosa Heads Qld 4567

Mr James Michael DINGLE

Sergeant John Paul GOMES
New South Wales Police

Corporal Kim Elizabeth GRAY

Mr Graham Duncan HARTWIG Eidsvold Qld 4627

Mr Rodney Duncan HARTWIG 8 Screening Plant Road, Eidsvold Qld 4627

Mr Dean Edward HUDSON Kotara NSW 2289

Mr Robert Stanley KEARNEY Adelaide SA 5000

Miss Elise Nicole LAVERS Normanville SA 5204

Senior Constable Drew Alexander LEWIS

Queensland Police

Commendation for Brave Conduct (continued)

Mr Thomas Peter McPEAKE

Goolwa Beach SA 5214

Miss Terry McPHERSON

Forrest Beach Qld 4850

Mr Mandeep NAGRA

8 Carroll Street, Nambour QLD 4560

Detective Leading Senior Constable Marc Anthony NEWTON

Victoria Police

Mr Zachary John O'LEARY-BARLOW

Bedford WA 6052

Mr Glen OLERENSHAW

9/102 Murray Road, Corrimal NSW 2518

Mr Duncan James ROGERS

Wonga Park Vic 3115

Corporal Scott Robert RUEHLAND

NSW

Mrs Sharon Maree VAUGHAN

Wolvi Qld 4570

Mr Brett Leslie WILLIAMS

Yeppoon Qld 4703

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

Awardees comprise of two people who took action following a collision between two heavy vehicles, at Myalup, Western Australia on 11 December 2012.

Mr Brian Ugo DELL'AGOSTINO

Leschenault WA 6233

Mrs Lynette Amy GILBERT

Waroona WA 6215

Awardees comprise of several people who rescued two women from being set alight at Daleys Point, New South Wales on 5 April 2013.

Mr Jarrod Carl LYMBURNER

7 Hayman Avenue, Cranbrook Qld 4814

Mr Jordon REMFREY

15 Gollogly Lane, Condon Qld 4814

Awardees comprise of several people who rescued a boy who fell over a waterfall at Devil's Thumb, near Mossman, Queensland on 17 August 2008.

Mr Sam GIBSON

Oak Beach QLD 4877

Mr Matthew Aaron WERNER

Awardees comprise of members from the Goolwa Country Fire Service who rescued a woman trapped in floodwater at Finniss, South Australia on 27 July 2012.

Mr Andrew John GABELL

Lacrington Street, Goolwa Beach SA 5214

Mr Cory John JOHNSON

Goolwa South SA 5214

Mr Thomas Peter McPEAKE

Goolwa Beach SA 5214

Mr Kenneth Roger SMIRKE

29 Dance Street, Goolwa SA 5214

Mr Paul John THURKLE

Goolwa SA 5214

Mr Amos Bradley ZADOW

Goolwa SA 5214

Awardees comprise of the Australian Defence Force helicopter crew, from Warhorse 104, involved in the rescue of several people trapped in floodwaters at Bundaberg, Queensland on 28 January 2013.

Corporal Kim Elizabeth GRAY

Queensland

Captain Robert William JONES

Queensland

Corporal Matthew Paul KENNEDY

Queensland

Captain Dion PALMER

Queensland

Group Bravery Citation (continued)

Awardees comprise of the Australian Defence Force helicopter crew, from Warhorse 214, involved in the rescue of several people trapped in floodwaters at Bundaberg, Queensland on 28 January 2013

Captain Rex David CURTIS

Queensland

Corporal Brett Arthur HOY

Queensland

Captain David Dennis REES

Queensland

Corporal Scott Robert RUEHLAND

New South Wales

Awardees comprise of members of the Australian Defence Force and Customs and Border Protection personnel who were involved in the rescue of forty-one people when a suspected illegal entry vessel impacted the rocks at Rocky Point, Christmas Island on 15 December 2010.

Mr Daniel Ronald BLACKBURN

16/19 Magree Street, Kallangur Qld 4503

Mr Michael Terence BURGESS

Swan View WA 6056

Mr Troy Adam DANIELS

Queensland

Leading Seaman Mitchell Scott DAVIDSON

Queensland

Lieutenant Jeremy Michel EVAIN RAN

New South Wales

Mr Graham John GOURLAY

Redlynch, Qld 4870

Private Dane Robert HEINEMANN

Northern Territory

Leading Seaman Adam Daniel HUBBARD

Northern Territory

Mr Paul Michael JARDINE

Buddina Qld 4575

Chief Petty Officer Raymond Charles MANLEY

Northern Territory

Mr Brett Patrick MARMONT

19 McIntrye Crescent, Googong NSW 2620

Private Kale Raymond MORRISSEY

Queensland

Leading Seaman Shannon MUNDY-CASTLE

Northern Territory

Able Seaman Cory James ROBERTS

New South Wales

Mr Leigh RULE

Wirrulla SA 5661

Able Seaman Jake Andrew SMITH

Western Australia

Private Samuel Kurt WILLIAMSON-ROBERTSON

Northern Territory

Awardees comprise of several police officers who took actions as bushfires threatened residents in Heathcote, New South Wales on 26 December 2001.

Mr Bernard James DOYLE

Blackbutt NSW 2529

Senior Constable Mathew John DREVERMAN

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Kelvin Roy MADDALENA

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Jamie David OLIVER

New South Wales Police

Sergeant Andrew Paul SETTER

New South Wales Police

Sergeant Christopher YORK

New South Wales Police

Awardees comprise of several people who assisted during the rescue of several children who were swept out to sea at Patonga Beach, New South Wales on 12 January 2013.

Mr James BILLINGTON

14 Carawa Street, Umina Beach NSW 2257

Mr Chadd William HOFNER

63 Neera Road, Umina Beach NSW 2257

Mr Liam John PETTIT

Umina Beach NSW 2257

Mr Clint PILLING

New South Wales

Awardee is a member of Queensland Fire and Rescue Service who conducted rescue operations in Toowoomba during the Queensland Floods in January 2011

Mr David Robert Crighton

Pittsworth Qld 4356

By Her Excellency's command

Stephen Brady CVO

Official Secretary to the Governor-General