Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

28 March 2019

Australian Bravery Decorations

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards:

STAR OF COURAGE

(For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)

Senior Constable Stephanie Leanne BOCHORSKY Western Australia Police Force

Mr Shaun Michael McHENRY Denmark WA 6333

Mrs Mary SAWAN Malvern East VIC 3145

BRAVERY MEDAL

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Ms Alison Patricia ARCHER WA

The late Ms Kirsty Louise BODEN Late of SA

The late Mr Jack Thomas BRAY Late of WA

Senior Constable Ian Bruce BUCKMASTER Queensland Police Service

Mr Mitchell CAMPBELL WA

Mr Matthew Simon CORLETT

Mr Nicholas DANIELL NSW

Mr Matthew Ian FLANAGAN Wangaratta VIC 3677

Mr Jason William FLETCHER Lower King WA 6330

Mr Arthur Marin GERARD Vertou, France

Ms Breanna Jeanne GILBERT Rye VIC 3941 Mr Ronald John GREEN Katherine NT 0850

Mr Peno Juan HAU Orana WA 6330

Mr Hidayat HIDAYAT Armidale NSW 2350

Mr Charles Wayne INGHAM Cleveland QLD 4163

The late Mr Raymond Edward JEROME Late of NSW

Mr Glen KEAUGHRAN Singleton WA 6175

Mr Matthew James LODGE Falcon WA 6210

Mr Benjamin Stuart LONG Halls Head WA 6210

Mr Hugh Cameron McCLELLAND Kallangur QLD 4503

Mr James Robert McCLELLAND Wooloowin QLD 4030

The late Mr Luke Edward MITCHELL Late of VIC

Mr Troy Barry SHEPPARD Two Rocks WA 6037

Mr Ivan Patrick SMITH Armidale NSW 2350

Mr Ulrich Peter SNELL Alkimos WA 6038

Mr Ian Hugh STODDART Narellan Vale NSW 2567

Corporal T

Ms Jessica Claire VARNEY Waggrakine WA 6530

Mr Justin Leigh WILSON Geraldton WA 6530

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Mr Rohan James AIRD WA

Mr Jamie Allan ALEXANDER Bray Park QLD 4500

Mr Michael Jeffrey BAIN Henley Brook WA 6055

Ms Katherine Anne BROCK QLD

Miss Stephanie Maree CORTES NSW

The late Mr Teddy Jangala EGAN Late of NT

Mr Bryce ELLIS Yamba NSW 2464

Mr Laurence Sebastian FLETCHER QLD

Mr Gianfelice FONTE Docklands VIC 3008

Constable Jeremy David FORSTER Western Australia Police Force

Mr Christopher Alan GANLEY Wantirna VIC 3152

Mrs Deslie Carol GREEN Katherine NT 0850

Mr Wayne Lesley HARRIS Kuranda QLD 4881

Mr Lindsay William HAWKE Thornlie WA 6108

Mr Paul Francis JONES Kambah ACT 2902

Mr William John KELLY WA

Miss Daisy Elizabeth KIRCHNER Esperance WA 6450

Mr Ethan LAVIN Hawthorne QLD 4171

Dr Craig Steven LAWRENCE Churchlands WA 6018

Mr Ian Alan McCALLUM Darlington WA 6070

Mr Mark David McDERMOTT Beeliar WA 6164

First Class Constable Kurt McKAIN Western Australia Police Force Lieutenant Anthony Robert MARTIN ACT

Miss Samantha Jane RUSSELL Dalyellup WA 6230

Mr Ian James SANDERSON Belmont NSW 2280

Mr John Francis SAWTELL Findon Creek NSW 2474

Mr Patrick SERGENT Villeneuve-Loubet, France

Mr William James SLATTERIE Cobram VIC 3644

Mr Jake Orion SLATTERY Fortitude Valley QLD 4006

Miss Cayla Alexis SWEENEY Runaway Bay QLD 4216

Mr Benjamin Michael SWIFT NSW

Master Leithan Arthur TILL Fitzroy Crossing WA 6765

Dr Paolo Vincenzo TODARO WA

Mr Muhammad USMAN Roxburgh Park VIC 3064

Miss Sadie Barbara WHEELER Esperance WA 6450

Mrs Joanne YEADON QLD

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

Awardees comprise of five members of New South Wales police who restrained an armed man in Greenacre, New South Wales on 19 February 2001

Sergeant Duncan Robert ABERNETHY BM Detective Senior Constable Stephen Wayne DODD Detective Chief Inspector Robert Andrew DUNCAN Sergeant Mark Haddon JOHNSTON Dr Sandy NADAZDY

Group Bravery Citation (continued)

Awardees comprise of two State Emergency Service volunteers, three New South Wales Police Officers and two New South Wales paramedics who went to the rescue of two people trapped in a blizzard in Kosciusko National Park, New South Wales on 2 August 2010.

Mr David AFELE, NSW Senior Constable Wayne Gregory BOLITHO Senior Constable Michael Darren HARTAS, Mr Garry David McKEAHNIE, Cooma NSW 2630 Mr Daniel MARSDEN, NSW Mr Kevin John MARTIN, Cooma NSW 2630 Mr Paul THOMPSON, Cooma NSW 2630

Awardees comprise of two members of the Queensland Police Force and two members of Queensland Water Police who rescued several people from flood waters in Tallebudgera, Queensland on 31 March 2017.

Senior Constable Luke Philip ANDREW Constable Michael Laurie CRAWFORD Senior Constable Jason Mark McINNES Sergeant Troy Kieron McLACHLAN

Awardees comprise of three school teachers and seven members of the Geraldton Fire and Rescue Service who were involved in the rescue of a young student caught in rocks in Champion Bay, Western Australia on 4 May 2016.

Mr Benjamin Jeremiah CLUNE, WA Mr David Allan GEQWIN, WA Mr Damien Lyle GILBERT, Bluff Point WA 6530 Mr William Patrick GILLESPIE HARP, WA Mr Matthew Jay MERRITT, Geraldton WA 6530 Mr Jay Matthew O'SULLIVAN, Geraldton WA 6530 Mr David John PARKIN. Geraldton WA 6530 Ms Jessica Claire VARNEY, Waggrakine WA 6530 Mr Justin Leigh WILSON, Wonthella WA 6530 Mr Christopher WORTHINGTON, Beresford WA 6530

Awardees comprise of crew members of a fishing boat who went to the assistance of five people from an upturned vessel near the Abrolhos Islands off the coast of Western Australia on 29 April 2017.

Mr Jack Michael COX, WA Mr Jesse LIDDON, South Fremantle WA 6162 Mr Sam LIDDON, WA The following recipient is added to the Group Bravery Citation gazetted on 29 March 2018.

Awardees comprise three people who went to the assistance of a woman being attacked in Woolloomooloo, New South Wales on 7 October 2015.

Mr Timothy J B HINE,

Woolloomooloo NSW 2011

Awardees comprise of three members of the Albany Volunteer Marine Rescue who were involved in the rescue of a woman who had jumped into the water near the Blowholes, near Albany, Western Australia.

Mr Christopher Ian JOHNS ESM, Collingwood Heights WA 6330 Mr Jason Troy SHEPHERD, Lower King WA 6330 Mr Timothy Robert WILKINSON, McKail WA 6330

The following recipient is added to the Group Bravery Citation gazetted on 13 September 2017.

Awardees comprise of members of New South Wales Police, hospital security guards, a hospital employee and paramedics responded to an armed hostage situation at a hospital in Penrith, New South Wales on 12 January 2016.

Ms Melisa KEESING,

St Clair NSW 2759

The following recipient is added to the Group Bravery Citation gazetted on 18 August 2014.

Awardees comprise of several people worked as a lowintensity explosive mine rescue team during the Beaconsfield mine rescue, Tasmania on 25 April 2006.

Dr Dominic Paul MORGAN ASM, Rozelle NSW 2039

By His Excellency's command

Paul Singer MVO Acting Official Secretary to the Governor-General