

Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

21 June 2020

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards:

AUSTRALIAN ANTARCTIC MEDAL

Mr Simon CROSS
Blackmans Bay TAS 7052

Mr Bradley Allen COLLINS Little Forest NSW 2538

Ms Alison Audrey DEAN Kingston TAS 7050

Ms Leanne Mary MILLHOUSE Ranelagh TAS 7109

The late Professor Patrick Gerard QUILTY AM Formerly of Sandy Bay TAS 7005

Dr Colin Jeffrey SOUTHWELL Kingston TAS 7050

By His Excellency's command

Paul Singer MVO

Official Secretary to the Governor-General

AUSTRALIAN ANTARCTIC MEDAL (AAM)

Mr Simon CROSS, Blackmans Bay TAS 7052

For service to the Australian Antarctic Program in his capacity of a Field Training Officer involved in the 2013 medical evacuation and particularly in his role in rescuing three injured expeditioners.

Simon Cross has spent eight summers and a winter in Antarctica as a Field Training Officer. In 2013 two helicopters were on a flight task supporting a science project when one crashed on the Amery Ice Shelf, inland from Davis Research Station. The helicopter Simon was in landed in the vicinity of the wreckage and he triaged the injured, treated and stabilised them, and managed to create a safe shelter using the broken parts of the crashed aircraft whilst awaiting rescue. A 20 hour ordeal on the ice remained until the recovery operation commenced.

Mr Bradley Allen COLLINS, Little Forest NSW 2538

For his outstanding contribution to the Australian Antarctic Program over thirteen seasons, particularly in the leadership role he took during the grounding of the Aurora Australis at Horseshoe Harbour, near Mawson Research Station, Antarctica.

Bradley Collins has completed thirteen seasons of service to the Program, wintering twice and participating in over 34 Antarctic and sub-Antarctic voyages where he has made his most significant contributions as Refuelling Supervisor. He has been at the forefront of developing and refining robust Standing Operating Procedures and technical manuals for AAD ship to shore refuelling operations. Brad stepped up as part of a leadership team and was instrumental in developing contingency plans when the Aurora Australis was damaged when it ran aground in Horseshow Harbour, near Mawson Research Station during a blizzard. During the two days the ship was stuck on the rocks, he was a calming influence among the wider group, particularly on the younger members of the team, most of whom were first time expeditioners.

Ms Alison Audrey DEAN, Kingston TAS 7050

For her outstanding service to the Australian Antarctic Program as a station leader who has provided exceptional leadership in building strong and resilient communities and leading teams through a number of high intensity operations.

Alison Dean has served as station leader at all four of Australia's research stations in Antarctica and the sub-Antarctic over six winters, spanning various periods commencing in 2010/11 with the latest being 2019/2020. During this time she has provided exceptional leadership in building strong and resilient communities and leading teams through a number of high intensity operations, not only to the expeditioners on station but more broadly to the Australian Antarctic Program.

Ms Leanne Mary MILLHOUSE, Ranelagh TAS 7109

For her outstanding service to the Australian Antarctic Program, particularly in her capacity as Voyage Leader on the Aurora Australia when the ship has been tasked to assist in crisis situations.

Leanne Millhouse has worked for the Australian Antarctic Division and the Australian Antarctic Program for almost four decades. Her exemplary service (in her capacity as Deputy Voyage Leader, Voyage Leader and Operations Coordinator) within the AAP has seen her placed in a number of the Division's crisis situations - coming to the aid of the stricken ship *Akademik Shokalskiy*, undertaking an urgent medevac from Macquarie Island in extreme weather, as well as coming to the assistance of the French Antarctic Program by stepping in at short notice to participate in a voyage to Dumont D'Urville when their vessel become unserviceable. Her calmness, flexibility, adaptability, resilience and excellent decision-making skills have made a substantial contribution to achieving a good outcome

The late Professor Patrick Gerard QUILTY AM

Formerly of Sandy Bay TAS 7005

For his outstanding contribution to Antarctic science helping to establish Australia's leading reputation in the field.

Professor Quilty first visited Antarctica in 1965. He led the Australian Antarctic Division's science program for more than 18 years from 1980-1999. He first visited Antarctica in 1965, going on to participate in 14 trips south, including three summers in the Vestfold Hills investigating whales he had originally discovered in 1989. He participated in three marine science voyages. Professor Quilty played a leading role in the international Antarctic science community and published over 200 scientific research papers.

Dr Colin Jeffrey SOUTHWELL, Kingston TAS 7050

For his outstanding contribution to the Australian Antarctic Program by providing important insights and breadth of knowledge for wildlife conservation and management.

Colin Southwell has made a significant contribution to the Australian Antarctic Program by providing important insights and breadth of knowledge for wildlife conservation and management. His work on large-scale surveys of seal and seabird populations and in developing a remotely operating camera system has enabled a significant expansion of wildlife monitoring around Antarctica. The surveys have set a benchmark for monitoring past and future change in wildlife populations, and the camera system allows more widespread, cost-effective monitoring of seabird breeding chronology and reproductive success. The camera system is now being used by numerous national Antarctic programs around Antarctica as a critical component of ecosystem monitoring for Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR).