Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

24 March 2021

Australian Bravery Decorations March 2021

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards:

STAR OF COURAGE (SC)

(For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)

The late Mr Tom JACKSON

Formerly of Congleton Cheshire United Kingdom

Mr Laurie NOLAN

Nelson Bay NSW 2315

BRAVERY MEDAL (BM)

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mr Sivei AH CHONG

Minto NSW 2566

Mr Tom ATKINSON

VIC

Mr Andrew BROOKER

NSW

Mr Scott Douglas BURROWS

Muirhead NT 0810

Mr Luke CHILCOTT

Wangaratta VIC 3677

Mr Noel CORCORAN

Soldiers Point NSW 2317

Mr Ian DRUMMOND

Shoal Bay NSW 2315

Mr Michael DUGGAN

Shoal Bay NSW 2315

Mr Joven Toribio ESTRADA

QLD

Ms Suzanne FREEMAN

Soldiers Point NSW 2317

Senior Constable Matthew Scott GRAY

New South Wales Police

Mr William Scott GREY

Stroud NSW 2425

Mr Dean HANCOCK

Stroud NSW 2425

Sergeant Robert John HARPER

New South Wales Police

Sergeant Tony McGarel HOGG

New South Wales Police

Mr Jackson HOLLMER

Belmont VIC 3220

Mr David JACK

Fingal Bay NSW 2315

Mr Kenneth JOHNSON

Corlette NSW 2315

Senior Constable Nicholas LEACH

New South Wales Police

Mr Ronald LIGHTON

Corlette NSW 2315

Sergeant David Patrick McHENRY

Victoria Police

Senior Constable Adam McKENZIE

Victoria Police

Mr Benjamin Roy MARTIN

Wonga Park VIC 3115

Mr Vincent Gavin MELBIN

QLD

Mr Peter MERLINO

Nelson Bay NSW 2315

Mr Tom MILLER

NSW

Senior Constable Trent Alexander MOFFAT

New South Wales Police

The late Mr Shaun OLIVER

Formerly of Victoria

Sergeant Andrew Linden PARKER

New South Wales Police

Mr Thomas PARKINSON

Kurnell NSW 2231

Bravery Medal (BM) (continued)

Mr Richard PIZZUTO

Corlette NSW 2315

Mr Khalfan RASHID

Liverpool NSW 2170

Mr William John RATHBONE

Goonellabah NSW 2480

Mr Daniel Leigh RICHARDS

Rhondda Valleys, United Kingdom

Dr Stuart Malcolm ROMM

Bellevue Hill NSW 2023

Sergeant Brad Lee SMITH

New South Wales Police

Mr Michael Anthony SMITH

Bli Bli QLD 4560

Mr Paul Francis SULLIVAN

Anna Bay NSW 2316

Miss Resha TANDAN

NSW

Mr John Eryl THOMAS

Soldiers Point NSW 2317

Mr Benjamin VAN DER BURGT

VIC

Mr Nigel WATERS

Nelson Bay NSW 2315

Mr Adam WHITEHOUSE

Gympie QLD 4570

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Mr Derek AH CHONG

NSW

Mrs Pearl AH CHONG

Minto NSW 2566

Mr Matthew Blake AIREY

NSW

Senior Constable Abraham BAIDENGAN

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Matthew Gary BASSFORD

New South Wales Police

Mr Nathan BEASY

VIC

Mr Paul BRENNAN

Agnes Water QLD 4677

Sergeant Blair Cameron BROWN

Victoria Police

Mrs Leanne Mary CHAMBERLAIN

Caniaba Nsw 2480

Chief Inspector Brenton James CHARLTON

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Andrew COUCH

New South Wales Police

Mr David Matthew EDDISON

Murphys Creek QLD 4352

Mr Garry FINLAYSON

Cobden VIC 3266

Mr Stephan FOURIE

Nairne SA 5252

Mr Christopher GAFFANEY

Enmore NSW 2042

The late Mr Henry Herbert GRANT

Formerley of Victoria

Mr Ian HODDINOTT

Murphys Creek Qld 4352

Mrs Mary-Ann HYDE

Wollongbar NSW 2477

Constable Cecelia Ann JARVIS

Queensland Police

Mr Nicholas T KARAGIANNIS

Lidcombe NSW 1825

Mr Lachlan Howard KIRWAN

Earlwood NSW 2206

Constable Caitlin LANGERAK New South Wales Police

Sergeant Michael McCLAFFERTY New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Todd MACKAY

New South Wales Police

Mr Michael Owen MAYTOM

Bective NSW 2340

Constable Cameron Blake MEANI

New South Wales Police

Ms Demi MOUNSEY

VIC

Senior Constable Brendan Michael O'FLYNN

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Hansell PEREIRA

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Rhys Patrick PERSHOUSE

New South Wales Police

Sergeant David William RAYMOND BM

Queensland Police

Mr Jacob Alexander RAYMOND

Gordonvale QLD 4865

Mr Mario SARDELICH

Allambie Heights NSW 2100

Commendation for Brave Conduct (continued)

Mr Grant SCHOLZ

Bowen QLD 4805

Mr Luigi SPINA

Italy

Senior Constable Matthew John STEWART

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Arun Scott TREVITT

New South Wales Police

Mr Stephen TUCKER

Moorebank NSW 2170

Senior Constable Benjamin WHITE

New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Brent WHITEN

New South Wales Police

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions during an incident with a man at Coombabah in Queensland on 7 December 1999.

Senior Sergeant Desmond James HEARN

Queensland Police

Sergeant David Christopher IVES

Queensland Police

Major Gregory Mark NEWMAN

QLD

Detective Senior Sergeant Adrian Vincent SALA

Queensland Police

Senior Constable Karen Joyce WAKEFIELD

Queensland Police

Sergeant Matthew WAKERLEY

Queensland Police

Sergeant Lyle Anthony WISS

Queensland Police

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions following a multiple vehicle collision and fire at Strathpine in Queensland on 31 December 2018.

Mr James Peter DALE

Bracken Ridge Qld 4017

Mr Anthony George LEWIS

QLD

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions following an assault at Minto in New South Wales on 10 September 2016.

Mr Derek AH CHONG

NSW

Mrs Pearl AH CHONG

Minto NSW 2566

Mr Sivei AH CHONG

Minto NSW 2566

The late Mr Allice Uiga AH FA

Formerley of Macquarie Fields NSW 2564

Mr David MOLI Jr

NSW

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions during the pursuit of an armed offender at Liverpool in New South Wales on 29 May 2019.

Mr Tevita Fakalata MAHE

NSW

Mr Mathew SABA

Blacktown NSW 2148

Mr Sam SARAYA

Greenacre NSW 2190

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions during the rescue of people from crocodile infested waters at Innisfail in Queensland on 2 March 2018.

Mr Scott Anthony JOHNSON

QLD

Mr Edward Gerard POSAR

QLD

Mr Shane Antun RADANOVIC

QLD

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions during the rescue of two people at East Point in Darwin, Northern Territory on 3 December 2006.

Mr Scott Douglas BURROWS

Muirhead NT 0810

Mr Manny KOULAKIS

INI_

Mr Peter Stacey SIMON

NT

Group Bravery Citation (continued)

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions during the rescue of five people from a dangerous river at Maryborough in Queensland on 25 September 2018.

Constable Drew Jordan HAROLD

Queensland Police

Mr Bruce John HOLLA Granville QLD 4650

Mr Craig Brendan McPHILLIPS

Peak Crossing QLD 4306

By His Excellency's command

Paul Singer MVO

Official Secretary to the Governor-General