Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

31 March 2020

Australian Bravery Decorations March 2020

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards:

STAR OF COURAGE (SC)

(For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)

Mr Paul Robert CHAPLIN

VIC

BRAVERY MEDAL (BM)

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mr Troy Daniel CUTLER

NSW

Mrs Natalie Jane DEARDEN

Apsley VIC 3319

Mr Darren Charles FYFE

New Farm QLD 4005

Sergeant Mark Hilton HEVERS

New South Wales Police Force

Mr Matthew James IRVING

Kurow, Otago, New Zealand

Mr Timothy Brett KELM

VIC

Sergeant Justin McEVOY

New South Wales Police Force

Mr Regan Angus McMAHON

WA

Senior Sergeant Bradyn Michael MURPHY APM

Queensland Police Service

Mr Anthony Gordon NORTHBROOK-HINE

Mount Colah NSW 2079

Mr David Howard O'DOWD

Cocos (Keeling) Islands WA 6799

Mr Kyle Anthony PATRECH

Greenbank QLD 4124

Senior Constable Ashley Cain RAWLINGS

Victoria Police

Mr Donald Allen ROMEY

Woodvale VIC 3556

Mr Levi John SYMINGTON

NSW

Mr John Ngahiti WAEREA

QLD

Constable Matthew John WOODHAM

Queensland Police Service

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Mr Kurt Luther BLIGH

QLE

Mr George CHAPMAN

NSW

Senior Constable Christopher James COOPER

New South Wales Police Force

Mr Stuart William COUCH

VIC

Senior Constable Thomas Robert DEMPSEY

Victoria Police

Mr Lee James DOBSON

Happy Valley SA 5159

Senior Constable Grant Charlton HAYDON

New South Wales Police Force

Mr Daniel Edward KOTYNIA

Prospect Vale TAS 7250

Mr Benjamin Terence McKENZIE

Inman Valley SA 5211

Leading Senior Constable Mark Douglas McLEAN

Victoria Police

Mr Jamie Ronald O'CONNOLL

Bellbird NSW 2325

Major Brendan Andrew ROWE

QLD

Commendation for Brave Conduct (continued)

Senior Constable Andrew Palgrave SIMPSON

New South Wales Police Force

Mr Robin Wayne SMITH

VIC

Sergeant Craig Jason STANTON

Victoria Police

Mr Simon Eric WERNE

Kalgoorlie WA 6430

Sergeant Daniel WILLSMORE

Victoria Police

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

Mr Brendan Colin EDWARDS

VIC

Mr Francisco GRECH

VIC

Mr Roy William GRIFFITHS

VIC

Mr Matthew David KENT

VIC

Awardees comprise an officer of the Queensland Police Service and a member of the public who are recognised for their actions during the rescue of a man from a burning vehicle at Gympie in Queensland.

Constable Jeremy GARDIOL

Queensland Police Service

Mr Alan GIRDLER

QLD

Awardees comprise five members of Fire and Rescue New South Wales and two Ambulance New South Wales paramedics who are recognised for their actions during the rescue of a man trapped in a trench at a building site in Castle Hill. New South Wales.

Mr Warren William BOSTOCK

NSW

Mr Christopher HUMPHREYS

Castle Hill NSW 2154

Mr Anthony Gordon NORTHBROOK-HINE

Mount Colah NSW 2079

Mr Terrence Andrew SADOWSKY

Burraneer NSW 2230

Mr Deryck John SALFUS

Baulkham Hills NSW 2153

Mr Bradley Scott TURNER

Kellyville NSW 2155

Mr Anthony WALLER

Coogee NSW 2034

Awardees comprise members of the Tactical Response Group of the Western Australian Police Force who are recognised for their actions during the apprehension of a violent offender near Fitzroy Crossing in Western Australia.

Mr Robert Harold BROWN

WA

Mr Dennis Eric COLLINSON APM

WA

Mr Barry John LANSDOWN

WA

Mr Donald Gordon McPHERSON

WA

The late Mr William Frederick MATSON APM

Formerly of WA

Mr David Anthony SHEEHAN

WA

Mr Edward William TRINDALL

WΑ

Group Bravery Citation (continued)

Awardees comprise officers of the New South Wales Police Force and Queensland Police Service who are recognised for their actions during the apprehension of two armed offenders following a high speed vehicle pursuit near Tweed Heads in New South Wales.

Mrs Kristie Emma BELL QLD

Mr Troy Daniel CUTLER NSW

Senior Constable Brett John BURNS
Senior Constable Luke William DAVIES
Senior Constable Matthew John GRINHAM
Senior Constable Justin Gregory LAVIN
Senior Constable Peter Bradley LEVER
Senior Sergeant Bradyn Michael MURPHY APM
Senior Constable Andrew Palgrave SIMPSON

Awardees comprise members of the Malabar Emergency Unit who are recognised for their actions during a prison riot at Long Bay Gaol in New South Wales.

Mr Wayne Francis CARMADY

Hat Head NSW 2440

Mr Alan <u>Gary</u> CLARKE Como NSW 2226

Mr William DODSON NSW

Mr Anthony Stefan D'SILVA NSW

Mr David Shane FARRELL QLD

Mr David John GOLLEDGE Valla Beach NSW 2448

Mr Garry William LOCKHART Peregian Springs QLD 4573

Mr Kenneth Michael NEWBERRY QLD

Mr Domenic PEZZANO Leppington NSW 2179

The late Mr Mark Anthony RUSSO Formerly of NSW

The late Mr Stephen John WRIGHT Formerly of NSW

Awardees comprise members of the public who are recognised for their actions during the rescue of passengers and driver following a bus crash in Lamington National Park in Queensland.

Mr Steven Hamish ARMITAGE

ACT

Senior Sergeant Troy Anthony HAMILTON BM

New South Wales Police Force

Dr Samantha NADAY

QLD

Mr Jack William O'DWYER

QLD

Mr Michael John SPRINGFIELD

Hope Island QLD 4212

By His Excellency's command

Paul Singer MVO

Official Secretary to the Governor-General