Skip to main content

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

On Monday 23 May 2022, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) received the resignation of the Honourable Scott Morrison MP as Prime Minister of Australia.

Afterwards, the Governor-General and Her Excellency Mrs Linda Hurley attended a ceremony at which the Governor-General issued the Oath or Affirmation of Office to the Honourable Anthony Albanese MP, the 31st Prime Minister of Australia, and:

The Honourable Richard Marles MP, Minister for Employment; Senator the Honourable Penny Wong, Minister for Foreign Affairs; Dr Jim Chalmers MP, Treasurer; and Senator Katy Gallagher, Minister for Finance, Minister for Women, and Attorney-General.

In addition, Dr Jim Chalmers MP and Senator Katy Gallagher swore the Oath and Affirmation of an Executive Counsellor.