Skip to main content

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

On Monday 11 September 2023, at Government House, Canberra, Their Excellencies General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) and Mrs Linda Hurley, received His Honour the Honourable Hugh Heggie PSM, Administrator of the Northern Territory, and Ms Ruth Jones.

In the afternoon, the Governor-General and Mrs Hurley hosted an Investiture Ceremony for Order of Australia honours and bravery decorations.

Afterwards, the Governor-General received the Prime Minister, the Honourable Anthony Albanese MP.

Later, the Governor-General presided at a meeting of the Federal Executive Council to consider the writ for the referendum in relation to the proposed law to alter the Constitution in accordance with the Constitution Alteration (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice) 2023.

Then, the Governor-General received Mr Tom Rogers, Australian Electoral Commissioner and Mr Andrew Johnson, Chief Legal Officer, Australian Electoral Commission.