Skip to main content

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

On Wednesday 26 February 2020, in Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Their Excellencies General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) and Mrs Linda Hurley, held a morning tea for the families of the late US Fire Fighters: Lieutenant Colonel Ian McBeth Aircraft Commander/Captain; Lieutenant Colonel Paul Hudson, First Officer; and Senior Master Sergeant Rick DeMorgan Jr., Flight Engineer, US Volunteer Fire Service.

Afterwards, the Governor-General and Mrs Hurley hosted a Ceremonial Welcome for His Excellency Mr Reuven Rivlin, President of the State of Israel.

Later, the Governor-General and Mrs Hurley hosted a State Lunch in honour of His Excellency Mr Reuven Rivlin, President of the State of Israel. Guests included: the Honourable Scott Morrison MP, Prime Minister of Australia; Ms Joy Burch MLA, representing the Chief Minister of the ACT; Senator Sue Lines, representing the President of the Senate; Her Excellency Mrs Nineta Barbulescu, Dean of the Diplomatic Corps; Ambassador of Romania and Mr Dan Barbulescu; His Excellency Mr Mark Sofer, Ambassador of the State of Israel and Mrs Sara Sofer; Senator the Honourable Marise Payne, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Minister for Women; The Honourable Mark Dreyfus QC MP, representing the Leader of the Opposition; Lieutenant General Greg Bilton AO DSC and Mrs Rachael Bilton, representing the Chief of the Defence Force; Ms Frances Adamson, Secretary, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Mr Chris Cannan, Australian Ambassador to Israel; Mr Leon Kempler AM, National and Victorian Chair, Australia-Israel Chamber of Commerce; Dr John Kunkel, Chief of Staff, Office of the Prime Minister; Mr Jeremy Leibler, President, Zionist Federation of Australia; Mr Mark Leiber AC, National Chairman, Australia-Israel Jewish Affairs Council; Mr Solomon Lew, Chair, Premier Investments; Mr Steven Lowy, World Chairman, United Israel Appeal; Ms Caroline Millar, representing the Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and Dr Claude Rakisits; Ms Anat Rivlin Goursky; Mr Harel Tubi, Director General, Office of the President; Ms Rivka Ravitz, Chief of the President’s Bureau; Ms Shuli Davidovich, Senior Foreign Policy Advisor, Office of the President; Brigadier Alaa Abu Runkun, Military Secretary to the President; Ms Naomi Toledano Kandel, Spokesperson, Office of the President; Mr Tomer Reichman, Director of Overseas Travel, Office of the President; Mr Yuval Keshet, Senior Coordinator of Foreign Affairs, Office of the President; Mr Ido Nehoshtan, Chairman, Israel-Australia Chamber of Commerce; Dr Aharon Medina, Doctor, Office of the President; Mr Paul Israel, Executive Director, Israel-Australia Chamber of Commerce; Mr Ron Gerstenfeld, Deputy Chief of Mission, Embassy of the State of Israel; Mr Safi Amashe, Defence Attaché, Embassy of the State of Israel; Ms Eman Amashe, Embassy Spokesperson, Embassy of the State of Israel.

Then, the Governor-General received Her Excellency Mrs Victoria Francolino Slepak, Ambassador of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, for a farewell call.