Skip to main content

August 2023 - Bravery List

The Governor-General has announced 10 Australian Bravery Decorations to recognise the courageous acts of 13 people.

Australian Bravery Decorations Honours List

Bravery Medal: 4

Commendation for Brave Conduct: 5

Group Bravery Citation: 1 group (3 people). An additional recipient has also been included in a Group Bravery Citation announced in 2020.

“Congratulations to the brave people that we are recognising today. Each was confronted with a perilous situation and made a decision to try and save others – their courage is admirable and their selflessness should be celebrated,” the Governor-General said.

“Australian Bravery Decorations are a way for the nation to say to recipients ‘thank you’. I know that recipients are humble and don’t by nature seek the limelight – nevertheless their stories are inspiring.

“The sorts of actions we are recognising today are not without cost – both in the moment and, for some, beyond. To all recipients of these honours: know that we value and celebrate your selflessness and bravery. Australia is proud of you and I encourage you to wear your Australian Bravery Decoration with pride.”

Australian Bravery Decorations recognise acts of bravery where people selflessly put themselves in jeopardy to protect the lives or property of others. The following decorations are being awarded today:

Two Australian Bravery lists are announced every year. The independent Australian Bravery Decorations Council makes recommendations to the Governor-General regarding who should be recognised and at what level of award.