Skip to main content

Australia Day 2023 Honours List

The Australia Day 2023 Honours List recognises and celebrates 1,047 recipients, including 736 in the General Division of the Order of Australia and awards for meritorious, distinguished and conspicuous service. 

'What does being recognised mean to me?' - hear from some recipients

The 736 recipients of awards in the General Division of the Order of Australia include:

Meritorious Awards

The 217 recipients of Meritorious Awards include recipients of the Public Service Medal, the Australian Police Medal, Australian Fire Service Medal, Emergency Services Medal, the Australian Corrections Medal and the Australian Intelligence Medal. 

Military Awards

The 30 recipients of awards in the Military Division of the Order of Australia include:

The 64 recipients of Distinguished and Conspicuous awards include:

Covid-19 Honour roll

An additional 77 Australians recognised for their contribution in support of Australia’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic have been added to the COVID-19 Honour Roll.

Message from the Governor-General

“Congratulations to the outstanding Australians recognised in today’s Honours List. The recipients have had a significant impact at the local, national and international level and are, quite simply, inspiring,” the Governor-General said.

“They go above and beyond, are from all over the country, and contribute every day in every way imaginable. These are the people who see us through good times and bad. They’re the first to show up and the last to leave.

“They’re almost always humble to a fault but I urge recipients, for today, to put aside that humility - it’s important they know how much they are valued.”

There are 736 awards in the General Division of the Order of Australia, with 48 per cent for women and 45 per cent for service to local communities.

“It is encouraging to see an increase in diversity in the Order of Australia. Each recipient has something in common – someone nominated them. The Order belongs to each of us and we each have a part to play. The only way a person can be recognised is for someone to nominate them.”