Skip to main content

Nominate someone for an award

Guidance is available for each question in the online portal.

The Order of Australia

Stephanie Armstrong OAM

Nominations are made via the online portal.

Anyone can nominate someone to be recognised through the Order of Australia.

Detailed guidance to help complete a nomination form is available here. Before beginning you will need to gather some key information:

  • The contact details of the person you are nominating (if known)
  • A short case of why/who you are nominating; including
    • Examples of how they have demonstrated outstanding qualities
    • What they have done to make things better for others
    • The role(s) or area(s) in which they have excelled
    • The period of time, or dates of service (if known)
    • Evidence of other awards or recognition received by the nominee
  • Up to four referees (including contact details)

Australian Bravery Decorations

Nominations are made through the online portal.

Australian Bravery Decorations recognise people who, without thought of personal risk, displayed courage and bravery to protect or defend others.

You will need to include:

  • The contact details of the person you are nominating (if known)
  • A description of the incident where the brave act occurred
  • Details of what the person you are nominating did; which could be supported by
    • Photographs of the incident or the place it occurred
    • Links to media articles or other information about the incident
  • If available, the contact details of any other witnesses to the incident
  • Your own contact details.

National Emergency Medal

The National Emergency Medal recognises service in response to a nationally-significant emergency. Nationally-significant emergencies must be declared by the Australian Government under the National Emergency Medal Regulations 2011. Current nationally-significant emergencies are:

  • Bushfires 2019-20;
  • North Queensland Floods 2019;
  • Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017;
  • Queensland Floods 2010-11 and Cyclone Yasi; and
  • Victorian Bushfires 2009.

More information about applying can be found on the National Emergency Medal page.