Skip to main content

Distinguished Service Decorations

Distinguished Service Decorations recognise service in warlike operations. They are awarded primarily to members of the Australian Defence Force. Distinguished Service Decorations may be awarded posthumously.

There are three levels of individual decoration and one group award:

Distinguished Service Cross
The Distinguished Service Cross (DSC) is awarded only for distinguished command and leadership in warlike operations.
Distinguished Service Medal (DSM)
The Distinguished Service Medal (DSM) is awarded only for distinguished leadership in warlike operations.
Commendation for distinguished service
The Commendation for Distinguished Service is awarded only for distinguished performance of duties in warlike operations.
Meritorious Unit Citation
The Meritorious Unit Citation recognises sustained outstanding service in warlike operations by units of the Defence Force and by units of the defence forces of other countries.