Skip to main content

Council for the Australian Bravery Decorations

The Australian Bravery Decorations Council is an independent advisory body that considers nominations for awards and makes recommendations to the Governor-General.

The Council meets twice yearly, usually in May and November, to consider nominations and make recommendations to the Governor-General for awards.


As at 12 February 2024:


  • Ms Georgie Cornish

Community Representatives

  • Dr Craig Challen SC OAM
  • Ms Heidi Gan
  • Mr Rob Webb

Representatives of States and Territories

  • Mr Shane Fitzsimmons AO AFSM (New South Wales)
  • Mr Fin Bird (Victoria)
  • Ms Filly Morgan PSM (Queensland)
  • Mr Rik Morris (South Australia)
  • Ms Elenna Dionisio (Western Australia)
  • Commander Hege Ronning-Burns APM (Northern Territory)
  • Ms Courtney Ingham (Tasmania)
  • Mr Jason Jones (Deputy) (Australian Capital Territory)

Ex-officio Representatives

  • Ms Cassie Haynes (Department of Defence)
  • Mr Andrew Walter (Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet)