Skip to main content

Council for the Order of Australia

The Council for the Order of Australia is an independent body that considers nominations for appointments and awards in the General Division of the Order and makes recommendations to the Governor-General.

There are 19 members including representatives of each state and territory, public office holders (ex-officio) and community representatives. The community representatives on the Council are appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

The Council meets twice a year, usually in February and August, to consider whether each nominee in the Order of Australia has:

  • demonstrated achievement at a high level
  • made a contribution over and above what might be reasonably expected through paid employment, or
  • made a voluntary contribution to the community which stands out from other volunteers.


As at 20 February 2024:


  • Ms Shelley Reys AO

Community Representatives

  • Ms Annie Butler
  • Ms Ellie Cole AM
  • Ms Robyn Kruk AO
  • Vacant
  • Professor Helen Milroy AM
  • Mr Rupert Myer AO
  • Professor Samina Yasmeen AM

Representatives of States and Territories

  • Colonel Michael Miller LVO RFD (New South Wales)
  • Mr Jeremi Moule (Victoria)
  • Ms Filly Morgan PSM (Queensland)
  • Mr Rik Morris (South Australia)
  • Ms Kaylene Gulich (Western Australia)
  • Ms Jenny Gale (Tasmania)
  • Ms Kathy Leigh (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Mr Craig Kitchen MVO (Northern Territory)

Ex-officio Representatives

  • General Angus Campbell AO DSC (Chief of the Defence Force)
  • Mr Andrew Walter (First Assistant Secretary, Government Division, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet)
  • Senator the Honourable Katy Gallagher (Vice-President of the Federal Executive Council)


On 27 February 2024, the Council for the Order of Australia released a ‘Statement on the termination or cancellation of honours where the recipient is no longer living’.

On 23 January 2023, Chair of the Council, Shelley Reys AO, wrote an opinion piece: Let’s ensure The Order of Australia represents us all.