Skip to main content

Council for the Australian Bravery Decorations

The Australian Bravery Decorations Council is an independent advisory body that considers nominations for awards and makes recommendations to the Governor-General.

The Council meets twice yearly, usually in May and November, to consider nominations and make recommendations to the Governor-General for awards.

Community Representatives

  • Ms Teresa Hart PSM (Chair)
  • Dr Craig Challen SC OAM
  • Mr Dennis Quick

State and Territory Governments Representatives

  • Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons AO AFSM (New South Wales)
  • Ms Vivien Allimonos (Victoria)
  • Ms Filly Morgan PSM  (Queensland)
  • Ms Carolyn Sladden (South Australia)
  • Ms Elenna Dionisio (Western Australia)
  • Commander Ronning-Burns (Northern Territory)
  • Ms Fiona Birkett MVO (Tasmania)
  • Ms Georgeina Whelan AM CSC and Bar (Australian Capital Territory)

Ex-officio Representatives

  • Dr Paul Robards AM (Department of Defence)
  • Mr John Reid PSM (Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet)

As at May 2022.