Skip to main content

North Queensland Floods 2019

The North Queensland Floods 2019 was declared a nationally-significant emergency for the purpose of the National Emergency Medal on 6 March 2020, per the National Emergency Medal (North Queensland Floods 2019) Declaration 2020.

Sustained service eligibility criteria

North Queensland Floods 2019

Service performed during North Queensland Floods 2019 will be recognised though the clasp, ‘NTH QLD 2019’. The National Emergency Medal Committee determined the following criteria:

  • service must be in the protection of lives and property; or in the service of interests, that are not their own; in direct response to the emergency (including support that enables or facilitates the emergency response).
  • the geographical areas in Australia consist of the following local government areas, as at 25 January 2019. Queensland: Aurukun, Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Kowanyama River, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mapoon, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Napranum, Northern Peninsula, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Richmond, Torres, Torres Strait Island, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal, Yarrabah.
  • the qualifying period begins on 25 January 2019 and ends on 14 February 2019; and
  • the minimum duration of service that a person is required to have completed to qualify for sustained service is 5 days.

To submit an application for the National Emergency Medal with clasp 'NTH QLD 2019', please contact your primary service organisation in the first instance.

If you rendered service as a private citizen, you can submit a nomination in the online portal.

For more information, please visit the Frequently Asked Questions page.