Skip to main content

Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017

Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017 was declared a nationally-significant emergency for the purpose of the National Emergency Medal on 6 March 2020, per the National Emergency Medal (Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017) Declaration 2020.

Sustained service eligibility criteria

Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017

Service performed during Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017 will be recognised through the clasp, ‘TC DEBBIE 2017’. The National Emergency Medal Committee determined the following criteria:

  • service must be in the protection of lives and property; or in the service of interests, that are not their own; in direct response to the emergency (including support that enables or facilitates the emergency response).
  • the geographical areas in Australia consist of the following local government areas, as at 25 March 2017. New South Wales: Ballina, Byron, Clarence Valley, Kyogle, Lismore, Richmond Valley, Tenterfield, Tweed. Queensland: Banana, Brisbane, Bundaberg, Burdekin, Central Highlands, Charters Towers, Fraser Coast, Gladstone, Gold Coast City, Goondiwindi, Gympie, Hinchinbrook, Ipswich, Isaac, Livingstone, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Mackay, Maranoa, Moreton Bay, Noosa, North Burnett, Palm Island, Redland, Rockhampton, Scenic Rim, Somerset, South Burnett, Southern Downs, Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba, Townsville, Western Downs, Whitsunday, Woorabinda Aboriginal.
  • the qualifying period begins on 25 March 2017 and ends on 10 April 2017; and
  • the minimum duration of service that a person is required to have completed to qualify for sustained service is 5 days.

To submit an application for the National Emergency Medal with clasp 'TC DEBBIE 2017', please contact your primary service organisation in the first instance.

If you rendered service as a private citizen, you can submit a nomination in the online portal.

For more information, please visit the Frequently Asked Questions page.