Skip to main content

Victorian Bushfires 2009

The Victorian Bushfires 2009 was declared a nationally-significant emergency for the purpose of the National Emergency Medal on 23 October 2011 with the establishment of the National Emergency Medal, per the National Emergency Medal Regulations 2011.

Sustained service eligibility criteria

Victorian Bushfires 2009

Service performed during this nationally-significant emergency will be recognised through the clasp, ‘VIC FIRES 09’. The National Emergency Medal Committee determined the following criteria:

  • service must be in the protection of lives and property, or in the service of interests, that are not their own, in direct response to the emergency, including support that enables or facilitates the emergency response;
  • the geographical area is the State of Victoria;
  • the qualifying period begins on 28 January 2009 and ends on 5 March 2009; and
  • the minimum duration of service that a person is required to have completed to qualify for sustained service is:
    • paid service on 14 days, including at least two days in the period beginning on 7 February 2009 and ending on 14 February 2009; or
    • unpaid service on 7 days, including at least one day in the period beginning on 7 February 2009 and ending on 14 February 2009.

To submit an application for the National Emergency Medal with clasp 'VIC FIRES 09', please contact your primary service organisation in the first instance.

If you rendered service as a private citizen, you can submit a nomination in the online portal.

For more information, please visit the Frequently Asked Questions page.