Skip to main content

Frequently asked questions - the Order of Australia

The Order of Australia recognises Australians who have demonstrated outstanding service or exceptional achievement. There are two divisions – General and Military for Australian Defence Force Personnel.

Anyone can nominate someone for recognition through the Order of Australia (General Division) at any time. Below are some common questions to help you with the process. If you need help at any time, contact us.

Note that this guidance only applies to the General Division - recommendations for recognition within the Military Division are made by the Defence Minister.

Who can nominate or be nominated?

Preparing a nomination

I’ve submitted a nomination – what happens next?