Skip to main content

Queensland Floods 2010-11 and Cyclone Yasi

The Queensland Floods 2010-11 and Cyclone Yasi was declared a nationally-significant emergency for the purpose of the National Emergency Medal on 23 October 2011 with the establishment of the National Emergency Medal, per the National Emergency Medal Regulations 2011.

Sustained service eligibility criteria

Queensland Floods 2010-11 and Cyclone Yasi

Service performed during the Queensland Floods and Cyclone Yasi will be recognised though the clasp, ‘QLD 2010-11’. The National Emergency Medal Committee determined the following criteria:

  • service must be in the protection of lives and property, or in the service of interests, that are not their own, in direct response to the emergency, including support that enables or facilitates the emergency response:
  • the geographical State of Queensland;
  • the qualifying period  begins on 21 December 2010 and ends on 14 February 2011; and
  • the minimum duration of service that a person is required to have completed to qualify for sustained service is:
    • paid service on 28 days; or
    • unpaid service on 14 days.

To submit an application for the National Emergency Medal with clasp 'QLD 2010-11', please contact your primary service organisation in the first instance.

If you rendered service as a private citizen, you can submit a nomination in the online portal.

For more information, please visit the Frequently Asked Questions page.